It's All About Sailing & FunSubscribe Now

Commodore Cup

CommodorCupGoverning Code

The Commodore’s Cup was donated by Carrie Pfister in 2003 and is intended to recongnize the best performance by a family during the race.

Qualification Requirements
To qualify for the Commodore’s Cup the boat and crew must meet the following guidelines:

  1. All must be members in good standing in the Carter Lake Sailing Club.
  2. The boat must belong to a member crew on board.
  3. The crew must consist of a minimum of 3 people. All must be family members of the club, or you may substitute a crewing member or a junior sailor member.
  4. No sailing industry professionals (as defined by US Sailing) may have been aboard the boat during the regatta.


All individuals who meet the above qualification requirements will be scored according to the following formula to determine the McGann Cup recipient, this changes US Sailing Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS) Appendix A.

If multiple fleets are competing the winning skipper shall be the best overall score for all races sailed as determined by the Cox-Sprague Scoring System.

  1. Cox-Sprague Scoring System is a weighted high point scoring system that gives a score in proportion to the size of the fleet. Races with more starters will have a greater mathematical effect upon the series score, and races with fewer starters will have a lesser mathematical effect upon the series score.
  2. The number of starters for each fleet shall be actual number of boats that came to the starting area and started each race.
  3. Each skipper receives points for his or her finishing place indicated in Cox_Sprague Scoring Table.
  4. A skippers Percentage of Perfection score = Total points Scored (race 1 + race 2 + race 3 + race X…)/ Total possible points (first place in race 1 + race 2 + race 3 + race X…).
  5. The skipper with the greatest Percentage of Perfection shall win the McGann Cup.
  6. Tie Breaker:
    • 1st The skipper with the greatest number of total points.
    • 2nd Follow the guidelines set forth in Appendix A8 (Series Ties) of the RRS.
  7. All races will be scored.

Previous Winners

2013 Laurel Bower
2012 Doug McKnight