It's All About Sailing & FunSubscribe Now

Kieser Award

KeiserTrophyIt was created in remembrance of long time member, racer and past commodore Bill Kieser.  It is awarded to the best CLSC member finisher in the Carter Lake Open Regatta.  Replaced the Clark Trophy, which was award for the same reason until 2010.

Kieser Award Governing Code

The Kieser Award recognizes the best performance by a Carter Lake Sailing Club member in the annual Carter Lake Open Regatta.   The award is presented to the winner at the Annual Fall Banquet, but kept in the trophy case in the clubhouse.

Qualification Requirements

To qualify for the Kieser Award a skipper must meet the following guidelines:

  1. Must be a member in good standing in the Carter Lake Sailing Club.
  2. Must have registered in the Carter Lake Open as a skipper.
  3. Must have been primary helmsman/skipper during the entire Carter Lake Open.
  4. No sailing industry professionals (as defined by US Sailing) may have been aboard the boat during the regatta.



All individuals who meet the above qualification requirements will be scored according to the following formula to determine the Clark Trophy recipient, this changes RRS Appendix A.

If multiple fleets are competing the winning skipper shall be the best overall score for all races sailed as determined by the Cox-Sprague Scoring System.

  1. Cox-Sprague Scoring System is a weighted high point scoring system that gives a score in proportion to the size of the fleet. Races with more starters will have a greater mathematical effect upon the series score, and races with fewer starters will have a lesser mathematical effect upon the series score.
  2. The number of starters for each fleet shall be actual number of boats that came to the starting area and started each
  3. Each skipper receives points for his or her finishing place indicated in Cox_Sprague Scoring Table.
  4. A skippers Percentage of Perfection score = Total points Scored (race 1 + race 2 + race 3 + race X…)/ Total possible points (first place in race 1 + race 2 + race 3 + race X…).
  5. The skipper with the greatest Percentage of Perfection shall win the Kieser Trophy.
  6. Tie Breaker:
    1st  The skipper with the greatest number of total points.
    2nd  Follow the guidelines set forth in appendix A8.
  7. All races will be scored.


Past Recipients

2013 Joe and Denise Chinburg
2012 Don Walbuger
2011 Don Waldburger

Clark Trophy Past RecipientsClarkThrophy

2010 Doug McKnight
2009 Mike Wilson
2008 Duane Chaloupka
2007 Doug McKnight
2006 Doug McKnight
2005 Doug McKnight
2004 Doug McKnight
2003 Mike Ruwitch
2002 Paul Kresge
2001 Bill Padget
2000 Bill Padget
1999 Jeff Park
1998 Bill Padget
1997 Bill Padget
1996 Bill Padget
1995 Don Waldburger
1994 Guy and Susan Lindsay
1993 Vern Bybee
1992 Don Waldburger
1991 Todd Rickard
1990 Jon Bockelman
1989 Baxter – Cook
1988 Rod Meyers
1987 Hans Bucher
1986 Don Waldburger
1985 Art Silcox
1984 Art Silcox